Social Media Tracking Tools

For this weeks blogging assignment I have chosen to analyze a social network company.  For one thing I personally love Snapchat and it’s a very hot topic right now.  I’m going to analyze Snapchat and two of it’s competitors Instagram and Vine to see how it holds up.

Snapchat is a photo messaging application developed by Stanford University students.  Using the app, users can take photos, record videos, add text and drawings, and send them to a controlled list of recipients. These sent photographs and videos are known as “Snaps”. Users set a time limit for how long recipients can view their Snaps, after which they will be hidden from the recipient’s device and deleted from the Snapchat server.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with snapchat here is a short video to give you an idea what Snapchat is offering to current, new and potential clients or does it???

With our ever growing, and ever demanding society there are tons of social network apps that fundamentally do basically the same thing.  So what makes you or I chose one over the other?  I used Google’s social media analytics software Wildfire and compared Snapchat to two of its competitors Instagram and Vine.

Screen Shot 2013-11-17

I found the Wildfire tool to be extremely easy to use and navigate but at the same time most of the features are only made unavailable except to those clients who’ve paid for the premium version.  After I made an account at Wildfire I used the monitor dashboard, which basically allows you to compare your business with your competitors.  Fantastic Right???  Except for the face that it’s Facebook oriented providing you with information as shown in this graph comparing the different businesses Likes and the people talking about them where as for Tweeter and Google+ it would only track the followers.

Now here are 10 comments about Snapchat that I’ve graded the sentiment.

1. Marty Mellway 5 days ago                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               too bad most people lack a story to tell, their too busy updating there facebook status and texting, and soon snapchatting. People do less and become more boring by the minute. Thanks for developing more useless technology to help us “connect”. Maybe people can snapchat a story about themselves taking a selfie for Facebook. ( -1)

2. Col.Klink  3 days ago

Smart move, FB is a dead end. (+1)

3. SpacemanPhil 3 days ago

It’s just amazing how developing a clever little app can make you a billionaire in less than a year! (+1)

4.Ktownjetsfan 2 days ago

@Mint-Berry Crunch You do realize that this app is faulty though right? The idea is to send a pic and have it dissapear so it can not be passed around or whatever. But all you have to do when you recieve the text is take a screen shot of the pic and you now have it saved on your phone. (-1)

5.Ktownjetsfan 1 day ag0

WARNING
This app is a fraud. This app gives young people a false sense of security. Just take a screenshot of a pic sent through snapchat and it is your forever. Do not be fooled.(-1)

6.TransomWillie 2 days ago

It’s just so hard to convince me that the material isn’t ultimately saved SOMEWHERE (-1)

7.GreenMarine 2 days ago

“The company has tapped into a deep desire among younger Internet users for ephemeral communication, for activity that doesn’t have to be entered in the global logbook in the cloud.”

Poor naïve young people… how long do you think Snapchat will be able to maintain the façade?(-1)

8.RuFiOPx 4 days ago

fuck face book, fuck MySpace, fuck Instagram, fuck twitter , fuck Snapchat , and fuck everybody else nobody cares how u live ur life so stop posting (-1)

9.ScorpioVampiress 1 week ago

Story of a real customer you could’ve had: So a friend asked on fb who uses snap chat. I though “hm, I wonder what snap chat is..” I googled it, and found your website, with this video, I watched it, and, like most of the other comments here have already said, the video is pointless and explains nothing. The worst part is that this video has now been up 30 days, and you’ve received a total of 30 (now 31) comments. (not counting replies) 7 (now 8) of which indicate they were either offended by the animal abuse in the vid or learned nothing from it. 5 from people who were confused about how to use the product, 5 from people explaining how to use the product or where to get more info, 4 that were in some other way negative, one that was neutral, and only 2 that were positive, along with 2 in another language. The vid tole me nothing, and the comments told me that the product was limited, confusing, and hard to use. You need a new marketing team. (-1)

10.apodis sidopa 1 month ago

SNAPCHAT=SAFE SEXTING (-1)

Thanks for reading.

 

12 thoughts on “Social Media Tracking Tools

  1. Hi Kelly,

    Thanks for sharing. Facebook just bid of $3 Billion for Snapchat. Snapchat has gone on to reject the bid and there is rumour that Google is $4 Billion in the hopes to win the bidding war. I personally like Snapchat. A fun new way to talk to friends and family. Most of my Snaps are with my family in the States where it’s really popular.

    • Hey Amir,
      I’m glad you enjoyed reading my post. I’m also a fan of Snapchat I only have 7 people on it and its mostly friends and family. I have yet to try the new feature Your Story but it look cool. I heard about Facebook but I cant believe I’m just hearing about this $4 Billion from Google that crazy!

  2. Great blog post – I like all your examples and I also used Wildfire to do my comparisons. I liked it, but thought you can do a lot more if you invested in buying the paid version. Snap Chat is a smart application.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. There are still a few thing that I need to learn like how people get the picture of the full comment or tweet to show up on the blog but baby steps lol. Yeah, you find that quit a bit I find that the free version offer you very little because they want you to make that invest and purchase the product but for what we could do on Wildfire I liked it.

  3. Great idea! Snap chat is a hot topic right now, I wish I had thought of this for my post because they would have greater metrics to draw insights from. In #8 the poster had a very refreshing point of view. If this person is so against social media, isn’t he/she contradicting their opinion by posting?

    • Thanks, the idea to use Snapchat for my blog actually came from a friend of mine because I was wracking my brain trying to come up with something and he told me about the news on Snapchat and I was like eureka that would be perfect for this assignment! Lol, yes # 8’s point of view is very refreshing and made me smile because he states that no one cares about what’s going on in your life so stop posting yet there he/she is posting!!! So yes Shah they are being some what hypocrites

  4. Thank for posting this blog. I enjoyed reading it especially because it is in the news. By reading the comments and know about Snapchat I wonder what the demographic on the fourm that you are quoting from are. It seems to me that these comments are from a very young crowd.

    • Its hard to say what the demographic was some you can tell are defiantly from a younger crowd but they were a few that were from the older population I just picked the most interesting ones I thought for my blog. I found that either people love it or hate it there is no in between reminded me of the blackberry phones and either you loved them or you hated them haha.

  5. Great post Kelly! I’m so glad you wrote about snapchat as I haven’t tried it yet but am interested to learn more about it. There seems to be some controversy over whether the content really disappears or not, which makes this a great topic for your blog!

    • Hey Danielle, I personal enjoy Snapchat. I don’t have very many people on it but its just a fun way to keep in touch and take pictures then draw on them. If you send a Snapchat to someone and there’s enough time for them to screenshot it then technically they’ll have a copy of it but once the timer has run out that person no longer has access to that video or picture but that doesn’t mean that somewhere Snapchat has records and logs of all its users activity. Just like everything this days just be carefully who you add and want it is your sending right.

Leave a Reply

